Dasa Mahavidya

Dasa Mahavidya Temple

Lord Shiva is known for his stillness, so in order to worship him, one must remain still without any interruptions. Hence to find Shiva, one must surrender to him and follow certain rituals. On the contrary, the divine mother Goddess Shakti will make a seeker and accompany him in various practices related to her worship.

Tantra shastra emphasises on three vidyas- Hadi, Kali and Sadi Vidyas. Hadi Vidya is the most ancient vidya followed by Brahma, Vishnu, Rudra, Indra, Lopa Mudra, and Nandiswara and Kaula chara tradition. Kadi Vidya was introduced by Scholars over time who majorly follows Dakshinachara tradition. Matsyendranath, a great yogi and one of the Navanaths, propagated the Kaula Chara tradition (Hadi Vidya) and made the world follow it to the fullest for 200 years.

Dasa Mahavidya is placed above the other practices because it leads the seeker to a state of complete spirituality. There are specific procedures to worship the two deities Shakthi and Shiva. They are the presiding deities for each planet out of nine planets. Worship of these deities will get relived from navagraha dosham.

Dasa implies ‘ten’, and Maha Vidya refers to a literary work that is self-evident and bears its own witness. As the name implies, "Dasa" means "ten," and "Dasa Maha Vidyas" consists of ten deities. Every deity has a unique significance and glory. They are considered as the Dasa Tarangas of Adiparashakti and Incarnations of Adiparashakti. So any wisdom related to them is Adi shaktis wisdom only.

Dasa Mahavidya - Incarnation

When Daksha Prajapati did not invite Satidevi and Maha Rudra to the yagna. Sati Devi requested Maha Rudra several times for attending the event. He became enraged despite repeated requests. Then Sati Devi became furious on Maha Rudra, which resulted in incarnations of Dasa Mahavidya surrounding Maha Rudra, who sat facing west.

In front of Maha Rudra stood Mahakali Mahavidya and Chinnamasta Mahavidya. Behind Maharudra was Bhagalamukhi Mahavidya. Bhuvaneswari Mahavidya sat to his south, Tripura Bhairavi Mahavidya, who is Satidevi herself, seated to his north, Dhumavati Mahavidya sat to his south east, and Sri Mahatripura Sundari Mahavidya seated to his south west. Matangi Mahavidya was to his northwest, and Bala Tripura Sundari Mahavidya was to his north east. Tara Mahavidya was above Lord Rudra and Kali Devi was below. In addition, Lord Maharudra was surrounded by eight deities known as Ashta Mathas ( divine mothers) in each of the eight directions.

While Parvathi Devi took on the form of Navadurgas for the benefit of the world. Satidevi ( also known as Adishakthi) took the form of Dasa Mahavidya.

Important Note

Only from Siddhagurus or Enlightened masters should a seeker learn the worship of these deities. He should become a disciple and follow the Guru's instructions exactly as they are. Dasa Mahavidya mantra contains the word 'Beejakshara,' that ought to be chanted flawless.

World's first 7 Feet Dasa Mahavidya Idols

There are only a few temples constructed for Dasa Mahavidyas in India and across the world. Of all those Ramaneswaram stands infront. Founded by Siddhaguru Sri Ramanananda Maharshi in 2015, this abode is the pilgrimage for varied deities and Siddhagurus. Perhaps this is the only pilgrimage which has Dasa Mahavidya Idols, each of 7 feet tall.

Once the devotee enters the main arch of the temple, on the right there is Adiparashakti Sannidhanam. Devotee should pray to her performing Kumkum pooja and move onto the left inside the sannidhanam for Navadurgas darshan, followed by the Dasa Mahavidya darshan. Here, Dasa Mahavidya deities are consecrated in Marble stone form according to the Tantric sciences. On the 26th day of August 2023, Siddhaguru Sri Ramanananda Maharshi consecrated these idols. Each of these deities possesses a unique prowess and grant wishes to their devotees accordingly.

Dasa Mahavidya Anushtanam

Mantram ✼ Hridayam ✼ Kavacham

✼ Ashtottaram ✼

There are three levels in Dasa Mahavidya. The first level includes the above four parameters; second level includes the last two parameters, and the third includes attaining divinity. As on date Siddhaguru is providing the first and second levels of Dasa Mahavidya wisdom that can be digested and easily perceived by the seeker.

The seeker should follow these six parameters to become fully aware of each deity’s worship.

  1. Dhyana Sloka of each deity.
  2. To perceive the nature and appeal of each deity.
  3. The Hridayam of each deity.
  4. The Kavacham of each deity.
  5. The Ashtottara Nama Stotra of each deity, (Chanting108 names of deity)
  6. The Sahasra Nama Stotra of each deity (Chanting108 names of deity)


Stipulations for chanting Sri Dasa Mahavidya Anushtanam

  • To receive complete blessing of Dasa Mahavidya, the seeker should themselves become a disciple of a self-realized guru (or a Siddhaguru).
  • If your Guru is self-realized, seek permission from your guru to learn Sri Dasa Mahavidya Anushtanam from Siddhaguru Sri Ramanananda Maharshi.
    Else chant:

    Yetat kshanamapi aham sri ramanananda maharshinaha nijasishyaha bhavami.
    (At this moment itself, I wholeheartedly accept “Siddhaguru Sri Ramanananda Maharshi” as my guru.

  • Promise him that you never trouble him, submit to him with utmost devotion on him and eventually endeavor to become enlightened.
  • Light three Agarbattis at your pooja mandir.
  • One who performed the death rituals should not chant this mantra for 3 months and his family for 11 days.
  • Women are not permitted to chant this mantra during menstruation.
  • These mantras can be chanted aloud(if you are alone) or softly under breath.
  • Communicating mantras to anyone is strictly prohibited.
  • Seekers not aware of their Janma Nakshatram (star at the time of their birth) and time shall worship her.

Click on each Mahavidya to perceive their absolute wisdom